Heroes of Fedora (HoF) – F25 Alpha

Heroes of Fedora is back! This time for F25 Alpha.

Heroes of Fedora is back! This time for F25 Alpha.

Hello, and welcome to the Heroes of Fedora: F25 Alpha edition! Heroes of Fedora is written so that the quality of any release can be quickly surveyed by viewing the stats regarding tests performed on

that release, such as Bodhi updates, Bugzilla reports, and release validation testing. In this case, we’ll be looking at F25 Alpha, so let’s get right to it!

Updates Testing

Compared to the F24 Alpha release, there were 996 more testers who worked on F24 Alpha, however the F25 Alpha release had 4 more comments! This could be viewed as an improvement in testing-efficiency, as it took 996 less testers to produce 4 more results!

Test period: Fedora 25 Alpha (2016-07-26 – 2016-08-30)
Testers: 328
Comments1: 2053

Name Updates commented
Dmitri Smirnov (cserpentis) 171
Emerson Santos (em3rson) 163
Heiko Adams (heikoada) 131
Reindl Harald (hreindl) 94
anonymous 68
Christian Dersch (lupinix) 67
Filipe Rosset (filiperosset) 61
Major Hayden (mhayden) 52
Frederico Henrique Gonçalves Lima (fredlima) 48
Nie Lili (lnie) 46
Pete Walter (pwalter) 43
David H. Gutteridge (dhgutteridge) 35
mildew 34
Adam Williamson (adamwill) 33
bojan 31
yuwata 30
mastaiza 29
samoht0 27
Parag Nemade (pnemade) 23
ngompa 23
Björn Esser (besser82) 21
Geoffrey Marr (coremodule) 21
Alexander Kurtakov (akurtakov) 19
Mukundan Ragavan (nonamedotc) 19
Vinu Moses (vinumoses) 18
Kamil Páral (kparal) 17
manik1596 16
Nemanja Milosevic (nmilosev) 15
karthikrajpr (karthikrajprkkr17) 15
Héctor H. Louzao P. (hhlp) 15
Chad Hirsch (charims) 14
fszymanski 14
William Moreno (williamjmorenor) 13
H V ANAGH (anagh) 13
Gerald B. Cox (gbcox) 13
Don Swaner (dswaner) 11
Jiří Popelka (jpopelka) 11
Corey W Sheldon (linuxmodder) 10
k3rn3l 10
raj550 10
Daniel Dimitrov (dandim) 9
Colin J Thomson (g6avk) 8
wdpypere 8
Igor Gnatenko (ignatenkobrain) 8
Lukas Brabec (lbrabec) 7
Peter Robinson (pbrobinson) 7
Sérgio Monteiro Basto (sergiomb) 7
bradw 7
Raphael Groner (raphgro) 6
dimitrisk 6
Devin Henderson (devhen) 6
keramidas 5
Lukas Slebodnik (lslebodn) 5
Alexander Kolesnikov (karter) 5
Itamar Reis Peixoto (itamarjp) 5
Sumantro Mukherjee (sumantrom) 5
Matthew Smith (zenzizenzicube) 5
Jon Ciesla (limb) 5
Peter T. (ageha) 5
Kevin Fenzi (kevin) 5
Till Hofmann (thofmann) 5
Nathan (nathan95) 5
Orion Poplawski (orion) 4
Randy Barlow (bowlofeggs) 4
Joachim Frieben (frieben) 4
Nicolas (naphan) 4
Viorel Tabara (viorel) 4
Vitaly Zaitsev (xvitaly) 4
suraia 4
ghishadow 4
Patrick Creech (pcreech17) 4
xake 4
Michal Vala (michalvala) 3
Ben Williams (jbwillia) 3
Austin Macdonald (asmacdo) 3
Mike FABIAN (mfabian) 3
Anssi Johansson (avij) 3
reaperzn 3
Sudhir Khanger (sudhirkhanger) 3
augenauf 3
Pat Riehecky (jcpunk) 3
Benjamin Xiao (urbenlegend) 3
Rex Dieter (rdieter) 3
Hans Müller (cairo) 3
jack smith (paviluf) 3
Daniel Lara Souza (danniel) 3
Ziqian SUN (zsun) 3
Simone Caronni (slaanesh) 3
mbasti 3
David Woodhouse (dwmw2) 3
dutchy 3
Martin Krizek (mkrizek) 3
Dominik Mierzejewski (rathann) 3
pdestefa 3
Rodrigo de Araujo (rodrigodearaujo) 3
Justin M. Forbes (jforbes) 3
David Jeremias Vásquez Sicay (davidva) 3
Martin Sehnoutka (msehnout) 3
Maurizio Manfredini (mmanfred) 3
…and also 229 other reporters who created less than 3 reports each, but 294 reports combined!

1 If a person provides multiple comments to a single update, it is considered as a single comment. Karma value is not taken into account.

Validation Testing

Test period: Fedora 25 Alpha (2016-07-26 – 2016-08-30)
Testers: 27
Reports: 390
Unique referenced bugs: 21

Name Reports submitted Referenced bugs1
juliuxpigface 70 1261464 1268622 1312548 1319459 1352680 1361614 1361808 1362736 1367280 1367910 (10)
pwhalen 58
kparal 48
pschindl 35 1369786 1370136 1370222 (3)
satellit 29 1363915 1364817 (2)
lnie 22
sumantrom 22
lbrabec 22 1369934 (1)
coremodule 22 1358416 1361614 1364120 1369607 (4)
frantisekz 12
me2 6 1373156 (1)
adamwill 5
sujanbu 5
cmurf 5 1368887 (1)
kevin 4
jsedlak 4
siddharthvipul1 4
prakashmishra1598 4
satellt 3
puffi 2
mattdm 2
raj550 1
sgallagh 1
mwd5650 1
a2batic 1
bt2112 1
tenk 1

1 This is a list of bug reports referenced in test results. The bug itself may not be created by the same person.

Bug Reports

Here are the stats regarding Bugzilla bug reports. Compared to F24 Alpha, there were 72 less reporters and 212 less reports in F25 Alpha. This could be viewed as a sign that Fedora is getting less buggy over time!

Test period: Fedora 25 Alpha (2016-07-26 – 2016-08-30)
Reporters: 76
New reports: 215

Name Reports submitted1 Excess reports2 Accepted blockers3
Joachim Frieben 26 1 (3%) 0
lnie 16 2 (12%) 0
Chris Murphy 15 2 (13%) 0
Kamil Páral 10 3 (30%) 0
Yonatan 10 0 (0%) 0
Igor Gnatenko 9 0 (0%) 0
Heiko Adams 8 1 (12%) 0
Emerson Santos 7 1 (14%) 0
Adam Williamson 6 0 (0%) 3
gil cattaneo 6 0 (0%) 0
Mike FABIAN 6 0 (0%) 0
Mikhail 4 0 (0%) 0
Petr Schindler 4 0 (0%) 0
Alex 3 1 (33%) 0
Dan Horák 3 0 (0%) 0
Geoffrey Marr 3 0 (0%) 0
Nivag 3 0 (0%) 0
Zbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek 3 0 (0%) 0
Dominika Krejčí 2 0 (0%) 0
Hans de Goede 2 1 (50%) 0
Joel Salas 2 0 (0%) 0
Leslie Satenstein 2 0 (0%) 0
Lukas Brabec 2 0 (0%) 0
Michal Schmidt 2 0 (0%) 0
Mustafa Muhammad 2 0 (0%) 0
Paul Whalen 2 0 (0%) 0
Peter H. Jones 2 1 (50%) 0
Rafael Fonseca 2 0 (0%) 0
Ricardo Ramos 2 0 (0%) 0
satellitgo at gmail.com 2 0 (0%) 0
srakitnican 2 1 (50%) 0
Tomasz Kłoczko 2 0 (0%) 0
Vedran Miletić 2 0 (0%) 0
…and also 43 other reporters who created less than 2 reports each, but 43 reports combined!

1 The total number of new reports (including “excess reports”). Reopened reports or reports with a changed version are not included, because it was not technically easy to retrieve those. This is one of the reasons why you shouldn’t take the numbers too seriously, but just as interesting and fun data.
2 Excess reports are those that were closed as NOTABUG, WONTFIX, WORKSFORME, CANTFIX or INSUFFICIENT_DATA. Excess reports are not necessarily a bad thing, but they make for interesting statistics. Close manual inspection is required to separate valuable excess reports from those which are less valuable.
3 This only includes reports that were created by that particular user and accepted as blockers afterwards. The user might have proposed other people’s reports as blockers, but this is not reflected in this number.

Conclusion

The general trend that has been seen since Fedora 24 Alpha release has been that Fedora is growing as a community, yet getting less buggy as a whole. The above, depending on how it is interpreted, could back this notion up. Thanks to all who participated in testing F25 Alpha, Fedora wouldn’t be what it is without your support. See you for Heroes of Fedora 25 – Beta!

Categories: Quality Assurance

7 Comments

  1. Stop that. You put all of testing fake users into this badge.
    David Jeremias Vásquez Sicay (davidva) 3
    Martin Sehnoutka (msehnout) 3
    Maurizio Manfredini (mmanfred) 3

  2. I got excited when I saw my name in this list!. Thanks.

  3. Well, it’s true that I had fewer time to contribute for F25 (compared to F24 and especially F23), but, to be honest, I’m quite surprised I don’t see myself on the table.

    I might be wrong (or misunderstanding the testing phase), but I suspect that some results coming from “Release Validation” fell out from the stats. For example, I remember I tested some composes on that time frame:
    https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Test_Results:Fedora_25_Branched_20160803.n.0_Desktop
    https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Test_Results:Fedora_25_Branched_20160807.n.0_Desktop
    https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Test_Results:Fedora_25_Branched_20160819.n.1_Desktop

    Anyway, thank you for sharing this blog post, it’s always interesting. And, as user, I want to say a big thank you to all of our testers, that do an awesome job in order to keep Fedora running smoothly!


    Giulio (juliuxpigface)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

Copyright © 2017 Fedora Community Blog

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑

%d bloggers like this: